Noboribetsu Jigokudani (Hell Valley)

Noboribetsu Jigokudani (Hell Valley)
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Nov, 12, 2020
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine

Jigokudani (Hell Valley) is a crater left from a steam eruption. It was created when part of the mountain was blown off due to volcanic activity. The diameter is about 450 meters wide and it is the source of the Noboribetsu hot springs, where 10,000 tons of water flow in a day. Around the area is a promenade that takes around 10 minutes to walk a lap, and you can safely take in the rugged terrain of this remarkable hot spring area.
The Tesenike, or Tessen pond, enclosed by a fence at the back of the boardwalk is a geyser that gushes 80 degree water. While geysers bring to mind sudden bursts of boiling water and scalding vapors, the Tesenike is a rare, small geyser that doesn’t spray the water up into the air, but rather it allows the water to gurgle up from the ground slowly. From the observatory deck of "Nanakamado Square," it is possible to get a view of the entire Jigokudani area. Around here, there are hot spring lakes like Oyunuma and Oku-no-Yu as well as natural foot baths to enjoy along your hike. Since there are multiple hiking routes you can take, you should first stop by the Noboribetsu Park Service Center at the entrance to Jigokudani. The center offers tour guide services with their friendly volunteer staff. In addition, this place also offers rain boots for rental on rainy days.

Information of Spot Detail


Noboribetsu Onsencho, Noboribetsu-shi, Hokkaido,Japan

Telephone Number

[Noboribetsu International Tourism and Convention Association] 0143-84-3311

Spot Types


Business Hours

Jigokudani Observatory will be lit until around 23:00


15 mins by bus from JR Noboribetsu station with Dounan bus "Noboribetsu Onsen," get off at Noboribetsu Onsen Terminal, 10 mins on foot from the stop.

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima