Heian Jingu Shrine

Heian Jingu Shrine
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: May, 11, 2021
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine

Although "Heian Jingu Shrine" sees many tourists daily, it is not well known that this shrine only has been around for 120 years. With the shift of the capital during the Meiji Restoration from Kyoto to Edo, modern day Tokyo, it was believed that Kyoto would go into decline. In order to revitalize Kyoto, the citizens had the Heian Jingu Shrine built in 1880 to commemorate the year of the Heian capital in its 1100th year. It was also in that year on October 22nd that the “Festival of the Ages,” one of the three major festivals of Kyoto, started being held. The diety of Heian Jingu (Saijin) is the 50th Emperor Kanmu who governed Kyoto. While at the festival, you will feel as if you’ve slipped back into the Heian era. That is, of course, because the shrine recreates the vibe of old Kyoto. Let's visit not only the shrine but also the vast garden surrounding it called the “Jin-en." The Jin-en was built by Jihei Ogawa, a 7th generation designer and one of the foremost gurus of modern Japanese gardens. The garden is divided by its different features into four areas in accordance with the cardinal directions, and you can enjoy beautiful flowers every season.

Information of Spot Detail


97, Okazaki Nishitennocho, Sakyo-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto, Japan

Telephone Number


Business Hours

6: 00 ~ 18: 00 (Shinen changes according to the season)


Sightseeing in the precincts free, Shinen, General 600 yen, Elementary and Junior high student 300 yen


Take Kyoto city bus, get off at "Okazaki-koen · Bijyutsu-kan Heian Jingu mae" 5-minute walk from the stop, Municipal subway Tozai line "Higashiyama"station, about 10 minutes on foot

Official Homepage


※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima