Takeisao-jinja Shrine (Kenkun-jinja Shrine)

Takeisao-jinja Shrine (Kenkun-jinja Shrine)
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Feb, 26, 2019
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine

This shrine's official name is Takeisao-jinja Shrine, but it is also known as the Kenkun-jinja Shrine. This shrine is to worship the god of fulfillment of major warfare, breaking through, and good fortune. The deity is dedicated to Nobunaga Oda to commemorate the way he lived his life as he pushed forward bravely and unwaveringly towards the unification of Japan. The deity enshrined here is also related to Nobunaga's vassal, Hideyoshi Toyotomi. After Honnō-ji Incident, where Nobunaga lost his life, Hideyoshi performed Nobunaga' s Buddhist memorial service at Daitokuji. In addition, Hideyoshi tried to build a temple dedicated to Nobunaga in Funaokayama, but the plan was scrapped. Although the temple was not built, this mountain was regarded as the spiritual place of Nobunaga. Then, as the Meiji era was ushered in, by the decree of Emperor Meiji, a shrine was built here for Nobunaga's accomplishment which ended the period of Sengoku, or the warring states era, and forged the path to unite Japan as one. A highlight of this shrine is the hall of past worshippers, where portraits of Nobunaga and 18 warriors of Sengoku hang. If you look closely, you’ll find the family crest of the Oda family carved on the side of the pedestal of the main pillar and the shrine dog, in addition to the simplistic beauty of the main hall and the hall of worship based on traditional Japanese architecture, "Oda mo-kou".

Information of Spot Detail


49, Murasakino Kitafunaokacho, Kita-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto,Japan

Telephone Number


Spot Types

Temples/shrines ,Registered Tangible Cultural Property

Business Hours

Anytime for Sightseeing in precincts
[Company office] 9: 00 ~ 17: 00

Regular Holiday

Open year around


Free admission


Kyoto city bus Line 1, 12, 204, 205, 206, North 8 · M1 get off at Kenkun-jinja mae , or get off at Funaokayama, 9 minutes on foot from the stop

Official Homepage


※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima