Asakusa Shrine

Asakusa Shrine
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Nov, 04, 2020
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Peter von Gomm

The Sanja Matsuri is one of Tokyo's most famous and entertaining festivals and is held by the shrine located right next to Sensoji Temple. The shrine is a registered important cultural property by the national government of Japan. Until the Edo period the shrine and temple were housed in the same building, but during the Meiji Restoration, Shinto was made the official religion of Japan and the places of worship were separated. The popularity of the shrine since old times can be attributed to three main historical figures. The celebration of these three are the basis for the Sanja Matsuri. The third Tokugawa shogun is enshrined at the Toshogu Shrine in Nikko, Tochigi, prefecture. Many people found it difficult to travel that distance to pray so Asakusa Shrine was designated as an alternative for those devoted patrons. The main hall of worship and the part of the shrine used to house offerings are connected by a corridor. Many people connected with the art of dance and performance come here to worship and pray to the enshrined spirits for help with their art. You can also see the mikoshi, portable shrines, used in the famous Sanja Matsuri.

Information of Spot Detail


2-3-1 Asakusa Taito-ku, Tokyo

Telephone Number


Spot Types

Temples/shrines, Importantcultural property, Attractions

Business Hours

Temple grounds: Always open
[Shrine Office] 9:00 to 16:30

Regular Holiday

No closing days




7 minutes walk from Asakusa station on the Tokyo Metro Ginza line
7 minutes walk from Asakusa station on the Tobu Isesaki line
7 minutes walk from Asakusa station on the Toei Asakusa line

Official Homepage

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima