Hakata Gion Yamakasa

Hakata Gion Yamakasa
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Apr, 14, 2020
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine

The Hakata Gion Yamakasa Summer Festival is held from July 1st to July 15th. The festival creates a lively summer in Hakata. The Hakata Gion Yamakasa has two types, Kaki Yamakasa and Kazari Yamakasa.
A Kaki Yamakasa is a giant moveable shrine, also called a Mikoshi, and carried on the shoulders of men through the city from July 10th until the finale.
There are seven areas called Nagares, which divide the river and streets.
In each Nagare, men carry different Yamakasas.

Also, from July 15th, a time trial race called the Oiyama begins.
The race is approximately 5 kilometers, starting from Kushida Shrine and finishing at the Old Site of the Magistrate's Office.
One part of the course is called 'Kushida Iri' as it runs through Kushida Shrine .
Runners compete for the best times for the 'Kushida Iri' section and for the entire course which goes through all of the Nagares.
A rehearsal run called the Oiyama Narashi is held on July 12th, where competitors run 4 kilometers to a different goal at the intersection of Naraya-machi.

The other Yamakasa, Kazari Yamakasa, are decorational Mikoshi which display impressive and rich shrines at 14 sites in and outside of the Nagares.
The decorations of Hakata Yamakasa, include realistic Samurai Dolls, called Busho Ningyo and beautiful Angel decorations, called Tennyo, created by Hakata Puppeteers.

Information of Spot Detail


Hakata-ku, Fukuoka-Shi, Fukuoka

Telephone Number

[Hakata Gion Yamakasa Promotion Association] 092-291-2951

Spot Types


Business Hours

July 1st to 15th




5 minutes walk from Subway Gion Station
15 minutes walk from JR Hakata Station

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima