Nikko Futarasan-Jinja Shrine

Nikko Futarasan-Jinja Shrine
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Nov, 13, 2020
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Peter von Gomm

Nikko Futarasan-Jinja Shrine was established 1200 years ago by the monk Shoudo Shounin, who chose Nikko mountain to be his training ground. Shoudo started the practice of Nikko mountain worship and this shrine has continued the practice ever since.
This shrine worships the God "Onamuchino-Mikoto", the bearer of good luck and marriage. In addition, this place is also a trailhead for Mt. Nantaisan. During hiking season, you will see hikers praying at the shrine before making their way up the mountain. Nikko Futarasan-Jinja Shrine is one of 103 buildings, including Tosho-Gu Shrine and Rin-no-Ji temple, listed as a world heritage "Shrine of Nikko." The most noteworthy place is the beautiful red "Shinkyo Bridge" crossing over the entrance of Nikko. This wooden bridge is 28 meters long and features an arch design called "Hanebashi.” It is the only kind of Hanebashi in Japan to hang over a mountain valley. It is known as one of Japan 's three great bridges along with Kintaikyo bridge in Yamaguchi prefecture and Saruhashi Bridge in Yamanashi Prefecture. In the past, the bridge was only used for special sacred events and general use was forbidden, but now anyone can cross it.

Information of Spot Detail


2307 Aioicho, Nikko-shi, Tochigi, Japan

Telephone Number


Spot Types


Business Hours

April - October (8:00 ~ 17:00)
November - March (9:00 ~ 16:00)

Regular Holiday

Open Year Round


[Shinen] Adult 200 yen, Junior High and Elementary School Students 100 yen
[Kamihashi] Adult 300 yen, High school student 200 yen, Junior High and Elementary School Students 100 yen


7 minutes on bus on Tobu Bus to Chuzen-Ji Onsen or Yumoto Onsen. From JR Nikko Station or Tobu Nikko Station, get off at (Nishi Omote Sando) stop, about a 7 minute walk from the stop

Official Homepage

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima