Nison-In Temple

Nison-In Temple
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Feb, 15, 2019
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine

In the Heian period between 834 and 847 AD, Nison-in Temple was opened by the Chief Tendaijashu priest "Jikaku Daishi Ennin.” The official name for this temple is Ogurayama Nison-in Kadaiji temple. During the violent period that occurred from 1467 to 1477, the temple was ravaged by the war and was rebuilt by a disciple of the monk "Hounen Shounin.” The temple was built at the foot of Mt. Ogurayama, which is the subject of renowned song "Ogura Hyakunin Ishu”, a beautiful scenic spot known for its fall colors. Nison-in, meaning “two Buddhist teachings,” houses two wooden Buddhist statues: the Tathagata statue, "Shaka Nyorai" and the Amitabha statue, "Amida Nyorai" as well as other important cultural artifacts, like the color paintings on silk, "Kenpon Chakushou You-In Sanetaka" and "Shou Myou-In-Kin Eda.” After entering the elegant gates of Nison-in, you will see a large walkway that stretches over 200 meters, flanked by the Japanese Momiji maple trees on both sides. This path is called the "Momiji-no-baba.” During autumn, the color contrast of bright red leaves, Karamon gate, tsukiji fence and the white walls of the main hall is absolutely splendid, a blanket of red and yellow leaves covering every district.

Information of Spot Detail


27 Saganisonimmonzen Chojincho, Ukyo-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto

Telephone Number


Spot Types



Tendai sect

Business Hours

9:00 to 16:00

Regular Holiday

Open Year Round


Junior High School Student or Older 500 yen, Elementary School Student or Younger Free Admission


15 minute walk from Arashiyama Station, Keifuku Railway
19 minute walk from Arashiyama Station JR Saga Line
About 50 minute bus ride from JR Kyoto Station, Kyoto Municipal Transportation Bureau bus, get off at (Saga Shakado-mae), 10 minute walk from the stop

Official Homepage

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima