Tenryu-Ji Temple

Tenryu-Ji Temple
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Apr, 01, 2021
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine

"Tenryu-Ji Temple" is the head temple of its own sect of Rinzai Zen Buddhism. It was founded by Ashikaga Takauji in 1339 in memory of Emperor Go-Daigo. Ashikaga Takauji and Emperor Kogen Jyoukou donated a manor at the time of construction. That, however, was not enough, and they decided to resume trade with the "Gen-ko,” which had requested independence from the Mongol empire at the time. This is said to be how the building of Tenryu-Ji Temple boats began and with the profit the temple turned from the trade, they were able afford the landscaping expenses. As a result, for a long time, Tenryu-Ji Temple prospered as the leading temple within Kyoto's Five Mountains, but after that, the temple has been repeatedly rebuilt due to fires and wars. Sogenchi Teien garden that`s within the premises is a magnificent garden that still bears its original appearance. It is accredited as a national historic site and is considered an iconic scenic spot. It is recognized for its historical and cultural value and was designated a World Heritage Site in 1994 in the list of "Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto."

Information of Spot Detail


68 Sagatenryuji Susukinobabacho, Ukyo-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto

Telephone Number


Spot Types



Rinzai Buddhism

Regular Holiday

Open year around ※Check the website for details


[Garden] High School Students 500 yen, Elementary and Middle School Students 300 yen, Preschoolers free
[Large Hojo · Shoun · Tahoden] Garden admission fee + 300 yen
[Yu'un-an Special Opening] Garden visitor fee + 500 yen


Just a short walk from Arashiyama Station Keifuku Railway
13 minutes from Arashiyama station JR Saga Line
15 minutes from Arashiyama station on Hankyu Railway

Official Homepage


※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima