Chusonji Temple

Chusonji Temple
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Oct, 29, 2020
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Peter von Gomm

Chusonji is a temple belonging to the Tendai sect of Tohoku Bunkyo, located in Hiraizumi Town and known as the temple of the famous Northern Fujiwara Clan. It was registered as a World Heritage Site in 2011 as being a site of historic and cultural value with many cultural properties, including the Buddhist temple with a gold leafed hall known as Konjikido. The Konjikido is said to have been erected in the late Heian period as a resting place for the souls that were lost in the many battles for control of the Northern region of Japan. Konjikido was built by Kiyohira, the founder of the northern Fujiwara clan in 1124 and is designated as a national treasure of Japan. It contains buildings that represent the aesthetics and design of Pure Land Buddhism architecture at the time. The interior is divided into three rooms, which are covered in gold leaf on the inside and outside of the building. The casket below the altar holds the remains of 4 members of the Fujiwara Clan. On the temple grounds is the eternal flame, said to have been lit continuously since the times of the famous buddhist priest Saicho. The temple is still an important place of worship for the followers of the Tendai sect of Buddhism in northern Japan.

Information of Spot Detail


202 Kinutome Hiraizumi, Hiraizumi-cho, Nishiiwaigun, Iwate

Telephone Number


Spot Types

World Heritage, Temples/shrines


Tendai sect

Business Hours

March-November 3: 8:00 to 17:00
November 4-February: 8:00 to 16:30

Regular Holiday

No closing days


Adults 800yen, High School Students 500yen, Jr.High School Students 300yen, Elementary School Students 200yen


A 25 minutes walk from JR Hiraizumi station

Official Homepage

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima