Kokyo Gaien National Garden

Kokyo Gaien National Garden
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Aug, 29, 2018
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine

The Imperial Palace is bookended by two parks: Kitanomaru Park on the north end and Kokyo Gaien National Garden on the south side. Kokyo Gaien National Garden is open to the public as a park adjacent to the Imperial Palace.
When it comes to sightseeing in Tokyo, many people cite the Imperial Palace as the first on their list. Considered as a starting point for Tokyo tourism, the garden is crowded with many tourists from across Japan and all over the world throughout the year.
In particular, in front of the Imperial Palace on the Marunouchi side, grass was planted with black pine scattered between gravel roads for an even more spacious effect.
In front of Kokyo Gaien National Garden is the Nijubashi Bridge. Further on, are the famous Sakurada-mon Gate and Sakashita-mon Gate synonymous with the Bakumatsu end to the Edo period. It is also a famous filming location.
This area is extremely popular as a jogging course, as runners can be seen here at any time of day. Despite the park's picture-perfect setting, during World War II it was from this location that the Imperial Government broadcast news of the country's surrender and where the Bloody Mayday incident, a catastrophe that ended with many lives lost, occurred. Archive footage of both historic events can still be found today.

Information of Spot Detail


1-1 Kokyogaien, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo

Telephone Number


Spot Types


Regular Holiday

Open Year Round




2 minute walk from Nijuubashimae Station (Exit B6 or 2) on the Tokyo Metro Chiyoda Line
2 minute walk from Hibiya Station (Exit B6 or 2) on the Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line 8 minute walk from Sakuradamon Station (Exit 3) on the Tokyo Metro Yurakucho Line
10 minute walk from JR Tokyo Station / JR Yurakucho Station

Official Homepage


※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima