Entoku-in Temple

Entoku-in Temple
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Oct, 26, 2018
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Peter von Gomm

This is the temple where Nene, the famous historical figure and wife of shogun Toyotomi Hideyoshi lived for 19 years, being built in his memory. It's most well known for its landscaped zen garden and painted sliding doors. After the death of Hideyoshi, Nene moved here and brought with her from the castle, the garden and a room that held very special memories for her. After her move she still remained very respected and influential, being visited by popular artists, politicians, military leaders, and other respected figures. The current Entokuin is known as a temple that houses a shrine dedicated to the ”Three Sided Daikokuten" which is the god Toyotomi Hideyoshi believed was the reason for his ascension to supreme ruler of Japan. The three sided Daikokuten is a statue of the three "ten" union with three faces, with Daikokuten in front, Bishamonten on the right, and Benzaiten on the left; the body being Daikokuten. It is believed that Hideyoshi worshipped this god from a young age. The garden Nene moved from Fushimi Castle and then arranged by the famous Kobori Enshu, is called the “North Garden”. It is rare in that the garden incorporates large boulders. The garden is also one of the finest examples of garden design from the Momoyama period of Japanese history.

Information of Spot Detail


530 Kodai-ji Shimokawara-cho, Higashiyama, Kyoto, Kyoto

Telephone Number


Spot Types



Rinzai sect

Business Hours

10:00 to 17:00

Regular Holiday

No closing days


Adults 500yen, Middle and high school 200yen, Under elementary school Free
- All children under elementary school must be accompanied by guardians.


A 15 minute walk from Keihan Gionshijo Station
A 20 minute walk from Hankyu Kawaramachi Station
A 19 minute bus ride from JR Kyoto Station, then a 7 minute walk from Higashiyama Yasui bus stop
A 2 minute bus ride from Hankyu Kawaramachi Station or Keihan Gionshijo Station, then a 7 minute walk from Higashiyama Yasui bus stop

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima