Zuisen-ji Temple

Zuisen-ji Temple
Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Jul, 10, 2019
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Jason Surguine
keyboard_arrow_down

Zuisen-ji Temple was built by the monk Musou Kokushi in the late Kamakura period, and the name comes from the autumn leaves surrounding the temple that looked like a beautiful screen. To the rear of the main hall is the only remaining rock garden from the Kamakura period in Kamakura, two large caves “Tennyo-do” and “Zazen-do” that were created by carving out the bedrock of Kamakura stone, and in front of that there is a pond where you can enjoy the stunning scenery. In addition, Zuisen-ji Temple is a famous viewing spot for plum trees, and in the vicinity there are cherry blossoms, azaleas, peonies, manzaku, daffodils and other seasonal flowers all year round, giving Zuisen-ji Temple a unique name of "flower temple".



Information of Spot Detail
location_on

〒248-0002

710 Nikaido, Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture

Telephone Number

0467-22-1191

Spot Types

Temples/shrines

Denomination

Rinzai-shu

Business Hours

9:00 to 17:00

Regular Holiday

None

Fee

200 yen

Transportaion

8 minute bus ride on the Keikyu bus from the JR Kamakura Station, and 10 minute walk from the Ootou no Miya bus station.

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.

Prefecture

Aomori Iwate Miyagi Akita Yamagata Fukushima
Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima