Voice Guide of Spot Introduction
Page last updated: Aug, 04, 2021
TOURIST Guide editing dept.
Peter von Gomm

When the capital relocated to Kyoto in the year 794, Jonangu, or the shrine to the south of the castle, was built to protect the country and the city. It is one of five shrines in Kyoto that were built upon the practice to align the gods of the four directions. To the north is the Kamigamo-jinja shrine for the Black Tortoise (Genbu), to the west is the Matsuo-taisha shrine for the White Tiger (Byakko), to the east is Yasaka-shrine of the Azure Dragon (Soryu), in the center is the Heian Shrine, and to the south is the Jonangu of the Vermilion Bird (Suzaku). Jonangu is known as the shrine to remove bad luck associated with the southern direction based on the traditional Chinese horoscope, and is thought to bring good luck for moving, construction, family relationships, general safety, and safe driving.
"Rakusui-en" is the shrine garden with more than 80 types of beautiful seasonal flowers and trees. Because it was mentioned in the Tale of Genji it is also called the "Genji Monogatari Hana no Niwa", or the "Flower Garden of the Tale of Genji". During Spring and Fall every year, the famous event "Kyokusui no Utage" takes place, carrying the tradition and elegance of the Heian period. In addition, "Festival of weeping plum and camellia" held from the middle of February to the middle of March is also popular, and many visitors come to see the beautiful flowers every year.

Information of Spot Detail


7 Nakajimatobarikyu-cho, Fushimi-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture

Telephone Number


Spot Types


Business Hours

9:00 to17:30
[Shrine garden] 9:00 to 16:30 (admission ends at 16:00)

Regular Holiday



[Shrine garden] Adults: 600 yen; Elementary and middle school students: 400 yen


15 minute walk from Takeda Stations of Kintetsu Line and Kyoto Municipal Subway
22 minute ride on the city bus from Kyoto Station, get off at Jonangu stop
15 minute ride on the Rakunan Express from Kyoto Station, get off at Jonangu stop, or 3 minute walk from Aburakoji Jonangu stop

Official Homepage

※The written notice and information on this page are as of the date of publication. Please refer or confirm the latest information of each spot on individual introduced website.


Niigata Toyama Ishikawa Fukui Yamanashi Nagano
Shiga Kyoto Osaka Hyogo Nara Wakayama
Tottori Shimane Okayama Hiroshima Yamaguchi
Tokushima Kagawa Ehime Kochi
Fukuoka Saga Nagasaki Kumamoto Oita Miyazaki Kagoshima